Michael Loewe

Notes to Maps

A Biographical Dictionary of the Qin, Former Han and Xin Periods (221 BC - AD 24)

1. The Qin Empire

It is by no means certain how many commanderies were established under the Qin empire. In addition to the metropolitan unit, which was under the control of the Superintendent of the Metropolitan Area (Neishi 內史) there were traditionally thirty-six commanderies, but there may be reason to show that either during the Qin empire or immediately after 210 there were forty-six; see Tan Qixiang, 'Qin jun xin kao'.

Divisions are shown on this map for the metropolitan area and the basic thirty-six commanderies. Following Tan Qixiang, the situations are also given for Guilin, Xiangjun, Nanhai and Minzhong. Guangyang is also shown, although there is no certainty about its existence, and in the absence of information of the unit to which the area was otherwise assigned. For reasons to support the existence of the commanderies of Hengshan 恆山 (Changshan), Jibei, Henei, and Hengshan 衡山, see Tan Qixiang, 'Qin jun xin kao', pp. 3, and 5—7.

2. The Emergent Kingdoms 210—202 BC

The title of Qijun was changed to Linzi after 210. Under Xiang Yu’s settlement of 206, Zhao was reduced by the establishment of the kingdoms of Changsha and Dai; Qi was divided into the three kingdoms of Jiaodong, Jibei and Qi.

3. The Han Empire 195 BC

QZW 1.6b observes that parts of the Qin commandery of Jiujiang were later formed into the Han commanderies of Hengshan 衡山, Lujiang, Yujiang and Jiangxia, but it is not possible to determine what areas were involved or how far the administration of Jiujiang commandery extended.

View image Map 1. The Qin Empire


View image Map 2. The emergent kingdoms 210-202 BC


View image Map 3. The Han Empire 195 BC


View image Map 4. The Han Empire 163 BC


View image Map 8. Regional units AD 2


View image Map 9. Civil warfare 210-202 BC

Michael Loewe